Learn More ad

cfc ad


Each year, AAIDD honors a select number of individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field of intellectual and developmental disabilities.

The 2020 awards recipients recognized for outstanding contributions or special achievements are:

Early Career Award
Grace Francis, PhD, George Mason University

Education Award
J. Carolyn Graff, PhD, RN, FAAIDD, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

International Award
Dandii Odgerel, PhD, Mongolian National University of Education

Leadership Award
Joanna Pierson, PhD, FAAIDD, The Arc of Frederick County

Media Award

Hearts of Glass, JenTen Productions

Policy Award
National Core Indicators (NCI) Program, HSRI & NASDDDS

Research Award
Beth Malow, MD, MS, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Service to the Association Award
Marco Lombardi, MA, FAAIDD, University College Ghent

Service to the Field Award
Celia S. Feinstein, MA, FAAIDD, Temple University

Student Award
Alan Santinele Martino, MA, McMaster University

Presidential Awards
Laraine M. Glidden, PhD, St. Mary's College of Maryland
Steven F. Warren, PhD, FAAIDD, University of Kansas

Exceptional Service to the Association Award
David M. Thissen, PhD, University of North Carolina

Distinguished Career Recognition

Barbara Mazzella, MS, FAAIDD, Commomwealth of Massachusetts

Download the 2020 Awards Program