Skip to Content

AAIDD Awardees


The 2023 awards recipients were recognized for outstanding contributions or special achievements at the AAIDD 147th Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA.

The 2023 AAIDD awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Dybwad Humanitarian Award            
Diane Morin, PhD, FAAIDD, Université du Québec à Montréal (Quebéc, Canada)

Early Career Award            
Carly B. Gilson, PhD, The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH)

Education Award        
Kim Fisher, PhD, FAAIDD, Illinois State University (Normal, IL)

Full Community Inclusion Award        
The Arc of Frederick County, Maryland (Frederick, MD)

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies,89(3), summer 2022 issue that explored disability history in Pennsylvania and guest edited by Dennis Downey, PhD

Leadership Award
Caroline Coffield, PhD, FAAIDD, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (New Brunswick, NJ)

Policy Award
Barbara Kleist, JD, MEd, FAAIDD, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Research Awards
Katherine E. McDonald, PhD, FAAIDD, Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY)   
Rose A. Sevcik, PhD, FAAIDD, Georgia State University (Atlanta, GA)   

Service to the Association Award
Elizabeth Perkins, PhD, RNLD (ret.), FAAIDD, FGSA, University of South Florida (Tampa, FL)    
Service to the Field Award
Steven M. Eidelman, MSW, MBA, FAAIDD, University of Delaware (Newark, DE)

Special Award
James Lemanowicz, MBA, FAAIDD, Temple University (Philadelphia, PA)

Student Award
Alice Bacherini, MA, Università degli Studi di Perugia (Perugia, Umbria, Italy)

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference