Skip to Content

AAIDD Awardees


The 2019 awards recipients were recognized for outstanding contributions or special achievements at the AAIDD 143rd Annual Meeting in St. Paul, Minnesota from June 24-27, 2019.


Dybwad Humanitarian Award
David Coulter, MD, FAAIDD, Boston Children's Hospital & Harvard Medical School

Early Career Award
Meghan M. Burke, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Education Award
Carol Britton Laws, PhD, FAAIDD, University of Georgia

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Western Pennsylvania Disability History Action Consortium

International Award
Chun-yu Chiu, PhD, FAAIDD, National Taiwan Normal University

Leadership Award
MaryAnn Romski, PhD, FAAIDD, Georgia State University

Research Award 
Susan L. Parish, PhD, FAAIDD, Northeastern University

Service to the Association Award
Vincent Chesney, MS, FAAIDD, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Selinsgrove State Center

Service to the Field Award
Neomi van Duijvenbode, PhD, Tactus Addiction Institute

Special Award
Département de Psychologie at Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

Student Award
Ariel Schwartz, MS, Boston University

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference