Learn More ad

cfc ad


Each year, AAIDD honors a select number of individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field of intellectual and developmental disabilities. A call for nominations is made each fall, and awards are presented at the Association's annual meeting.

Awards were presented at the 140th Annual Meeting of AAIDD
in Atlanta, Georgia.

The 2016 awards for which outstanding contributions or special achievement were recognized are: 

Sofia Santos, PhD, Universidade de Lisboa, International Award

John O'Brien & Connie Lyle O'Brien, Responsive System Associates, Leadership Award

Michael G. Aman, PhD, The Ohio State University, Research Award

Margaret Mehling, MA, The Ohio State University, Student Award

Karrie A. Shogren, PhD, University of Kansas, Early Career Award
Real Communities Initiative, Georgia Council on Developmental Disabilities, Full Community Inclusion Award

Gilbert S. Macvaugh, III, PsyD, Independent practice, Special Award

Welcome Change Productions, Media Award

Michael Wehmeyer, PhD, University of Kansas, Presidential Award


2016 Awards Program