Learn More ad

cfc ad


Each year, AAIDD honors a select number of individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field of intellectual and developmental disabilities. A call for nominations is made each fall, and awards are presented at the Association's annual meeting.

The 2017 awards recipients recognized for outstanding contributions or special achievements are:

Leadership Award
Katie Arnold, MS

Education Award
Susan R. Copeland, PhD, FAAIDD

Student Award
Maria Mello, MEd

Early Career Award
Patricia Navas Machado, PhD

Full Community Inclusion Award
TRIAD Program, Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

Dybwad Humanitarian Award
Cathy Ficker Terrill, MS, FAAIDD

Hervey B. Wilbur Award for Historic Preservation
Jerry Smith, MBA

Media Award
Chris Serres

Presidential Award 
Paul D. Aitken 

Presidential Award 
Maria A. Alfaro 

Download the 2017 Awards Program