Skip to Content

Press Releases


News & Policy

cfc ad


AAIDD Press Releases

woman at podium

AAIDD Announces Its 2014 Fellows

Ceremony to take place at 138th AAIDD Annual Conference in June 2014

January 29, 2014 (Washington, DC)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate nine individuals who have been identified to receive the designation of Fellow of the Association (FAAIDD).

This distinction is a high honor and is presented after review and consideration by a committee of leaders in the Association. Individuals may be nominated for Fellow after they have had at least seven years of continuous membership in AAIDD, participation in the professional and business affairs of the Association, and are judged to have made a meritorious contribution to the field of intellectual disability. The newest Fellows are:

  • Lynn Ahgrim-Delzell, PhD, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Caroline T. Everington, PhD, Winthrop University
  • Sr. Gabrielle Kowalski, PhD, Cardinal Stritch University (Emeritus)
  • Yves Lachapelle, PhD, Univesité du Québec à Trois Rivières
  • James R. Mullin, MEd, Wrentham Developmental Center
  • Elizabeth Perkins, PhD, RNMH, University of South Florida
  • Jean M. Phelps, MSW, LifeLinks, Inc.
  • Colleen A. Thoma, PhD, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Elisa F. Velardo, MMHS, Vinfen Corporation of Connecticut

The formal ceremony of preferment to Fellow will be held at AAIDD’s 138th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida from June 23–26, 2014.

Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. AAIDD advocates for the equality, dignity, and human rights of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and for their full inclusion and participation in society. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference