Skip to Content

News & Policy



AAIDD makes announcements on its home page and issues press releases on the Association's activities of interest to its members and the general public.


Recent Press Releases

AAIDD Announces Its 2024 Fellows

January 8, 2024 (Silver Spring, MD)

emony to take place during the 148th AAIDD Annual Meeting in June 2024.

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the following individuals who have been identified to receive the designation of Fellow of the Association (FAAIDD).

This distinction is a high honor and is presented after review and consideration by a committee of leaders in the Association. Individuals may be nominated for preferment to Fellow after they have had at least seven years of continuous membership in the AAIDD, participation in the professional and business affairs of the Association, and are judged to have made a meritorious contribution to the field of intellectual disability.

The newest Fellows of AAIDD are:

Kruti Acharya, MD, University of Illinois Chicago (Chicago, IL)

Leena Jo Landmark, PhD, Sam Houston State University (Huntsville, TX)

Ravita Maharaj, PhD, American Association of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (Silver Spring, MD) 

Jacqueline McGinley, PhD, Binghamton University (Binghamton, NY)

LaRon Scott, EdD, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, VA) 

Renata Tichá, PhD, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Virginia Walker, PhD, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) 

The newest Fellows will be honored at the 148th AAIDD Annual Meeting to be held June 10-12, 2024 in Louisville, Kentucky.

Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference