Skip to Content

News & Policy



AAIDD makes announcements on its home page and issues press releases on the Association's activities of interest to its members and the general public.


Recent Press Releases

AAIDD Announces Its 2023 Awards

Ceremony to take place at the 147th AAIDD Annual Meeting in June 2023.

January 9, 2023 (Silver Spring, MD)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate those who have been selected to receive awards of the Association in 2023. Each year, AAIDD honors select individuals, organizations, or media who have made outstanding contributions to the field. A call for award nominations is issued in the fall of each year and awards are presented at the annual meeting of the Association.

The 2023 AAIDD awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Dybwad Humanitarian Award            
Diane Morin, PhD, FAAIDD, Université du Québec à Montréal (Quebéc, Canada)

Early Career Award            
Carly B. Gilson, PhD, The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH)

Education Award        
Kim Fisher, PhD, FAAIDD, Illinois State University (Normal, IL)

Full Community Inclusion Award    
The Arc of Frederick County, Maryland (Frederick, MD)

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Pennsylvania History: A Journal of Mid-Atlantic Studies,89(3), summer 2022 issue that explored disability history in Pennsylvania and guest edited by Dennis Downey, PhD

Leadership Award

Caroline Coffield, PhD, FAAIDD, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School (New Brunswick, NJ)

Policy Award
Barbara Kleist, JD, MEd, FAAIDD, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Research Awards
Only rarely does AAIDD honor two individuals in the same award category; this year two exceptional honorees were selected for recognition with a 2023 research award:

Katherine E. McDonald, PhD, FAAIDD, Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY)   
Rose A. Sevcik, PhD, FAAIDD, Georgia State University (Atlanta, GA)   

Service to the Association Award
Elizabeth Perkins, PhD, RNLD (ret.), FAAIDD, FGSA, University of South Florida (Tampa, FL)    
Service to the Field Award
Steven M. Eidelman, MSW, MBA, FAAIDD, University of Delaware (Newark, DE)

Special Award
James Lemanowicz, MBA, FAAIDD, Temple University (Philadelphia, PA)

Student Award
Alice Bacherini, MA, Università degli Studi di Perugia (Perugia, Umbria, Italy)

Awardees will be honored at the 147th AAIDD Annual Meeting to be held June 5-7, 2023 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference