Skip to Content

Press Releases


News & Policy

cfc ad


AAIDD Press Releases

woman taking notes

AAIDD Announces Its 2019 Fellows

Ceremony to take place at 143rd AAIDD Annual Conference in June 2019

January 17, 2019 (Silver Spring, MD)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the following individuals who have been identified to receive the designation of Fellow of the Association (FAAIDD).

This distinction is a high honor and is presented after review and consideration by a committee of leaders in the Association. Individuals may be nominated for Fellow after they have had at least seven years of continuous membership in AAIDD, participation in the professional and business affairs of the Association, and are judged to have made a meritorious contribution to the field of intellectual disability. The newest Fellows are:

Nicole A. Brisson, PhD, Sage Haven Associates, Inc. (Fairfax, VT)

Marklyn P. Champagne, MSW, Creative Therapies (East Greenwich, RI)

Chun-yu Chiu, PhD, National Taiwan Normal University (Taipei, Taiwan)

Deborah M. Fisher, PsyD, Deborah Fisher Consulting (Chevy Chase, MD)

David R. Johnson, PhD, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Barbara A. Kleist, JD, University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Marco Lombardi, MS, University College Ghent (Ghent, Belgium)

Derek Nord, PhD, Indiana University (Bloomington, IN)

Ollie J. Seay, PhD, Texas State University (Austin, TX)

The formal ceremony of preferment to Fellow will be held at AAIDD’s 143rd Annual Meeting in St. Paul, Minnesota from June 24-27, 2019.

Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference