Skip to Content

Press Releases


News & Policy


AAIDD Press Releases

woman taking notes

AAIDD Announces Its 2018 Awards

Ceremony to take place at 142nd AAIDD Annual Conference in June 2018

January 3, 2018 (Washington, DC)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the individuals  who have been selected to receive awards of the Association in 2018.

Each year, AAIDD honors selected individuals or groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field. A call for award nominations is issued in the fall of each year and awards are presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The 2018 awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Early Career Award
Amy Weitlauf, PhD, Vanderbilt University

Education Award
David R. Johnson, PhD, University of Minnesota

International Award
Giulia Balboni, PhD, University of Perugia

Leadership Award
Mary Kay Rizzolo, PhD, The Council on Quality and Leadership

Policy Award
Marty Ford, JD, The Arc of the US

Research Award 
Ann P. Kaiser, PhD, Vanderbilt University

Service to the Association Award
Sharon Gomez, Evergreen Life Services

Service to the Field Award
Leslie Walker-Hirsch, MEd, Moonstone

Student Award
Jennifer Bumble, MEd, Vanderbilt University

The awards ceremony will be held during AAIDD’s 142nd Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri from June 25-28, 2018.


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. AAIDD advocates for the equality, dignity, and human rights of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and for their full inclusion and participation in society. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference