Skip to Content

Press Releases


News & Policy


AAIDD Press Releases

woman taking notes

AAIDD Announces Its 2017 Awards

Ceremony to take place at 141st AAIDD Annual Conference in June 2017

January 3, 2017 (Washington, DC)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the individuals and organizations who have been selected to receive awards of the Association in 2017.

Each year, AAIDD honors selected individuals or groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field. A call for award nominations is issued in the fall of each year and awards are presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The 2017 awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Dybwad Humanitarian Award
Cathy Ficker Terrill, CQL/Council on Quality Leadership

Early Career Award
Patricia Navas, PhD, University of Salamanca

Education Award
Susan Copeland, PhD, University of New Mexico

Full Community Inclusion Award
Community Engagement Program, TRIAD (Treatment and Research Institute for Autism Spectrum Disorders), Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Jerry Smith, MBA, University of Minnesota

Leadership Award
Katie Arnold, MS, Sibling Leadership Network

Media Award
Chris Serres, Minneapolis Star Tribune

Special Award
Trillium Health Resources’ “Play Together” Initiative

Student Award
Maria Paula Mello, MEd, Vanderbilt University

The awards ceremony will be held during AAIDD’s 141th Annual Meeting in Hartford, Connecticut from June 26-29, 2017.


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. AAIDD advocates for the equality, dignity, and human rights of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and for their full inclusion and participation in society. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference