Skip to Content

News & Policy


AAIDD Announces Its 2022 Awards

Ceremony to take place at the 146th AAIDD Annual Meeting in June 2022.

January 11, 2022 (Silver Spring, MD)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the individuals  who have been selected to receive awards of the Association in 2022.

Each year, AAIDD honors select individuals or groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field. A call for award nominations is issued in the fall of each year and awards are presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The 2022 AAIDD awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Early Career Award            
Mélina Rivard, PhD, Université du Québec à Montréal (Quebec, Ontario, Canada)

Education Award        
Jennifer L. Jones, PhD, Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, OK)

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Lisa A. Sonneborn, MFA, Temple University (Philadelphia, PA)

International award                
Seunghee Park, PhD, Ewha Womans University (Seoul, South Korea)

Leadership Award
Matthew Kaufman, MD, StationMD (Maplewood, NJ)

Media Award
David Egan, SourceAmerica, (Vienna, VA)

Policy Award
Nicole Jorwic, JD, Caring Across Generations (Elmhurst, IL)

Research Award
Carli Friedman, PhD, CQL | The Council on Quality and Leadership (Bothell, WA)    

Service to the Association
Michael Bloom, MA, FAAIDD, Incompass Human Services (Wells, ME)    
Service to the Field
Joe Macbeth, National Alliance for Direct Service Professionals (Albany, NY)

Awardees will be honored at the 146th AAIDD annual meeting  to be held June 13-16, 2022.


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference