Skip to Content

AAIDD News Quick View

News & Policy

cfc ad


Quick views of AAIDD Press Releases, Announcements, and Other News

AAIDD Announces Its 2019 Awards

Ceremony to take place at 143rd AAIDD Annual Conference in June 2019

January 17, 2019 (Silver Spring, MD)

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is pleased to announce and congratulate the individuals  who have been selected to receive awards of the Association in 2019.

Each year, AAIDD honors selected individuals or groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field. A call for award nominations is issued in the fall of each year and awards are presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The 2019 awards recognizing outstanding contributions or special achievement are:  

Dybwad Humanitarian Award
David Coulter, MD, FAAIDD, Boston Children's Hospital & Harvard Medical School

Early Career Award
Meghan M. Burke, PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Education Award
Carol Britton Laws, PhD, FAAIDD, University of Georgia

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Western Pennsylvania Disability History Action Consortium

International Award
Chun-yu Chiu, PhD, FAAIDD, National Taiwan Normal University

Leadership Award
MaryAnn Romski, PhD, FAAIDD, Georgia State University

Research Award 

Susan L. Parish, PhD, FAAIDD, Northeastern University

Service to the Association Award
Vincent Chesney, MS, FAAIDD, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Selinsgrove State Center

Service to the Field Award
Neomi van Duijvenbode, PhD, Tactus Addiction Institute

Special Award
Département de Psychologie at Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

Student Award
Ariel Schwartz, MS, Boston University

The awards ceremony will be held during AAIDD’s 143rd Annual Meeting in St. Paul, Minnesota from June 24-27, 2019.


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at

Connect with AAIDD on Social Media

Join The AAIDD Email List

Annual Conference