News & Policy

Learn More ad
cfc ad

Press Release


AAIDD Announces its 2017-2018 Board of Directors

March 13, 2016; Washington, DC:

The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) is extremely pleased to announce its 2017–2018 Board of Directors, effective July 1, 2017. 

The members of the 2017–2018 AAIDD Board of Directors are:

PresidentSusan M. Havercamp, PhD, FAAIDD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Genetic Counseling, The Ohio State University, Nisonger Center UCEDD, Columbus, Ohio

President-Elect: Elizabeth A. Perkins, PhD, RNLD, FAAIDD 
Associate Director and Research Assistant Professor, Florida Center for Inclusive Communities, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida 

Vice President: Laura Lee McIntyre, PhD, FAAIDD
Professor and Director, School Psychology Program, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon

Secretary-Treasurer: Alexandra Bonardi, OTR/L, MHA
Senior Policy Specialist, Human Services Research Institute and Clinical Assistant Professor, Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts

Past President: William C. Gaventa, Jr., MDiv, FAAIDD
Coordinator, Summer Institute on Theology and Disability and Adjunct Professor, Center for Disability Studies, University of Texas, Austin, Texas

At-Large Members:

Melissa A. DiSipio, MSA, FAAIDD 
Assistant Director, Philadelphia Coordinated Health Care, SE Region Health Care Quality Unit, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

David T. Helm, PhD, FAAIDD 
LEND Director, Institute for Community Inclusion, Boston Children’s Hospital and University of Massachusetts Boston, Boston, Massachusetts

Anthony M. Rodriguez, PhD
Assistant Professor, Providence College, Providence, Rhode Island

Matthew Van Auken
Chief Operations Officer, Developmental Pathways, Englewood, Colorado


Founded in 1876, AAIDD is the oldest professional association concerned with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Learn more about the organization at