Learn More ad
cfc ad

Each year, AAIDD honors a select number of individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to the field of intellectual and developmental disabilities. A call for nominations is made each fall, and awards are presented at the Association's annual meeting.

Awards were presented at the 141st Annual Meeting of AAIDD
in Hartford, CT.

The 2017 awards for which outstanding contributions or special achievement were recognized are: 

Dybwad Humanitarian Award
Cathy Ficker Terrill, CQL/Council on Quality Leadership

Early Career Award
Patricia Navas, PhD, University of Salamanca

Education Award
Susan Copeland, PhD, University of New Mexico

Full Community Inclusion Award
Community Engagement Program, TRIAD (Treatment and Research Institute for Autism Spectrum Disorders), Vanderbilt Kennedy Center

Hervey B. Wilbur Historic Preservation Award
Jerry Smith, MBA, University of Minnesota

Leadership Award
Katie Arnold, MS, Sibling Leadership Network

Media Award
Chris Serres, Minneapolis Star Tribune

Special Award
Trillium Health Resources’ “Play Together” Initiative

Student Award
Maria Paula Mello, MEd, Vanderbilt University


2017 Awards Program